South Metro Advisory Committee Kicks Off Next Week

The Council is launching its first new advisory committee in over five years with the South Metro Advisory Committee next Tuesday, May 5th with Union City Mayor, Vince Williams.

Advisory committees are one of the greatest benefits of Council membership and all members are encouraged to attend. These meetings occur at the same day and time each month and offer members the opportunity to interact with state and local elected officials, as well as county and city staff, including county and city managers, planning and zoning staff, transportation staff, economic development heads and watershed management staff. The Council holds advisory committee meetings in seven other locations across the region each month, including City of Atlanta, North Fulton, Cobb County, DeKalb County, Gwinnett County, Cherokee County and Forsyth County.

Open to Council members, elected officials and City or County staff only, these meetings provide members an opportunity to discuss and solve policy issues and hindrances to quality development and build relationships with local officials.

The South Metro Advisory Committee will cover all of South Fulton and Clayton counties – one of the fastest growing markets in the Atlanta region. We have heard from more and more Council members taking advantage of the great development potential in the area expressing the need for the Council to expand our presence Southward. We will kick off this initiative with the first meeting, next Tuesday, with Union City Mayor, Vince Williams. Subsequent meetings will follow the model of the Council’s other advisory committees, hosting City and County elected officials and Planning and Community Development Directors, to build relationships and address policy issues like zoning and permitting, infrastructure investment and other topics related to growth and development in the South Metro Area.

Thank you to our sponsors for the inaugural meeting, Lowe Engineers and SAFEbuilt.

Lowes Eng Logo  SafeBuilt-Logo