Run-off Election Results: One of Three Chairmen Left Standing in Re-Election

In what were closely watched election run-offs, two county chairmen were sent home by the voters and one was left looking ahead.  Chairman B.J. Mathis of Henry County and Chairman Eldrin Bell of Clayton County both saw their runs come to an end.

Chairman Mathis was bested 58-41 percent by former Hampton Mayor Tommy Smith while former Clayton County Police Chief Jeff Turner assumed Chairman-Elect with a 67-32 percent win over incumbent Chairman Eldrin Bell.

The lone incumbent victory for Chairman came when Tim Lee and his vision for Cobb County in the 21st Century withstood a challenge from former Chairman Bill Byrne with a 52-47 percent win over the controversial Byrne.  Chairman Lee’s victory offers Cobb a chance to continue its tradition of excellence over the last decade and remain a vibrant, vital economic engine that will drive the region over the next decade.

The Council would like to thank Chairman Mathis and Chairman Bell for their dedication to public service and their service to the Council.  We wish them the best in their future endeavors and are sure we will see them again serving their community in one way or another.

Congratulations to Chairman Lee!  We look forward to a continued positive working relationship with Chairman Lee and the Cobb County Commission.

Council for Quality Growth member Cindy Mills was also victorious over incumbent Patrick Bell in the District 4 race for Forsyth County Commissioner.  Cindy received nearly two-thirds of the vote defeating Bell 66-34 percent.  Congratulations Cindy!