Metro Atlanta Run-Off Elections Conclude (Almost)

On Tuesday, December 5th, voters in Metro Atlanta once again took to the polls to close out 2017’s Special Election cycle. On the ballot were a number of run-off elections left undecided following November 7th’s general election results. As another election-Tuesday drew to a close, election officials in the City of Atlanta tallied votes to decide its next Mayor – 46,464 votes for Keisha Lance Bottoms and 45,705 votes for Mary Norwood – though with less than 1% margin separating the two, Norwood has called for a recount. Also in Atlanta, Felicia Moore earned 55% of the vote on her path to becoming Atlanta’s next City Council President. Fulton County will welcome Robb Pitts as its new County Commission Chairman – a seat vacated by former Chairman John Eaves.

Around the region, the cities of East Point (Deana Holiday Ingraham) and Roswell (Lori Henry) will welcome new mayors, while Peachtree City Mayor Vanessa Fleisch held off her challenger to continue another term in office.

A number of new councilmembers outlasted the extended election cycle and will be sworn-in this coming January, including in the cities of Atlanta, Marietta, Smyrna, Avondale Estates, Peachtree City, Cumming, Johns Creek, Roswell, and Hampton.

The Council for Quality Growth commends all those who were elected and re-elected to serve and thanks all of those who have served and will be moving on to new endeavors. Please see here for Metro Atlanta’s complete results.