Many Hats Thrown into Brookhaven City Races

Many Hats Thrown into Brookhaven City Races

Georgia’s newest city has attracted much attention and not only from its citizens, but from mayoral and city council candidates as well. In fact, Brookhaven has a total of 26 qualified candidates running for mayor and city council throughout the 4 post positions.

A run off is predicted and will take place on December 4th, which does not allow the city much time, since it only has  November 6 – December 17 to hire key staff and accomplish last minute items. Of course, it will be the mayor and the city council who hire certain city workers and they will only have 12 days to find a city manager, police chief, city attorney and other critical personnel; finalizing a location for city hall; and deciding which firms will be awarded contracts for city services.  A recent panel established by Governor Deal will assist them in their decision making process.

A final list of candidates for mayor and city council positions has been determined and is as follows:

Mayor of Brookhaven (term ends 2015): Larry Danese, J. Max Davis, Sandy Murray, Thom Shepard

City Council, District 1 (term ends 2015): J.D. Clockadale, Alan Cole, Michelle Conlon, Kevin D. Fitzpatrick, Jr.,  Kevin Meaders, Rebecca Chase Williams

City Council, District 2 (term ends 2013): Jim Eyre, Larry Hurst, Russell Mitchell

City Council, District 3 (term ends 2015): Deborah Anthony, Hope Bawcom, Bates Mattison, Bridget O’Donnell, Ben Podgor, Kevin Quirk, Julia Russo, Gaye L. Stathis, Erik Steavens

City Council, District 4 (term ends 2013): Joe Gebbia, Karen Lord, Francis R. Reedy, Kerry Witt