Georgia Transportation Board Elects 2021-2022 Leadership

At the Georgia Department of Transportation Board meeting on Thursday, August 19th, the State Transportation Board elected Emily Dunn, who represents Congressional District 9, to serve as chair of the executive leadership team for 2021 to 2022. Joining Mrs. Dunn are Kevin Abel to serve as vice chair and Robert Brown as secretary. The new positions are effective immediately. Board elections are held annually to ensure that all regions of the state are represented at the executive leadership level.

Chair Emily Dunn, of Blue Ridge, represents Georgia’s 9th Congressional District. She is entering her second term as chair, six years after having been elected the first woman chair of the State Transportation Board in 2015. She was elected to the board in 2011 and most recently served as vice chairman. Prior to serving on the State Transportation Board, Dunn was a registered nurse for 11 years and previously owned and operated an arcade and gaming equipment and supply company.

Dunn replaces Rudy Bowen as Chair. Rudy Bowen, of Suwanee, has served on the board since 2007 and represents Georgia’s 7th Congressional District. Bowen is credited with providing steady leadership to the board, the department and the men and women of Georgia DOT during a global pandemic where essential crews worked during unprecedented times to keep roadwork and maintenance projects on or ahead of schedule.

Vice Chair Kevin Abel, of Sandy Springs, represents Georgia’s 6th Congressional District on the State Transportation Board. He was elected to the board in 2019, and most recently served as secretary. Abel is a philanthropist and businessman. He is a Leadership Atlanta graduate, a former finalist for Atlanta Small Business Person of the Year and was on the Georgia Trend 40 Under 40 List.

Secretary Robert Brown, of Decatur, represents Georgia’s 4th Congressional District on the State Transportation Board. He was elected to the board in 2005, and previously served as chairman and vice chairman. Brown is a business, community and civic leader. He is a registered architect, president and CEO of an architectural and construction management firm and an active member in numerous community and civic organizations

The 14-member State Transportation Board determines policy and governs the Georgia Department of Transportation. Each member is elected by a caucus of Georgia General Assembly members from their specific congressional district. Board members serve staggered, five-year terms.  For more information and individual photos, visit